What information could you share in class? - Reisverslag uit Valletta, Malta van amy verbeek - WaarBenJij.nu What information could you share in class? - Reisverslag uit Valletta, Malta van amy verbeek - WaarBenJij.nu

What information could you share in class?

Door: webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg amy

15 Maart 2010 | Malta, Valletta

I think I could share a lot of information about the business life in the classroom, because my company is really businesslike. In the company it is expected that you do not wear piercings and any eye-catching jewellery. This is expected because clients and other people, like interviewers, visit the company and when they do we need to make a good impression. A big difference that I have seen in the business life here and in Holland is that they spend a lot more time on their clients and they also mean the time they spend on them. In Holland I have seen that the time spend on the customer is mostly done because the people need to do it and not because they want to do it. Standard questions like how are you doing are mostly asked because it is a rule in the company. This is really a big difference. You can feel that the people are a more nicer and spend time on you because they want to not because they need to. Of course this is in general, because I know that in Holland there are also people and companies that spend time with clients because they want to and here in Malta there are also people that are not that nice. In Holland I have known that small talk with the client will slip away in some time. For example in emails, the first few times you write the hello, goodbye and a small story maybe and further on these things will all be deleted. This is the same with the greeting when a customer comes in the store or comes to pay for the products. In my company this does not happen, because they want to spend time with the client themselves.
I have also learned a lot about the specific sector that the company is working in. The hole process that is done to make a book is really extensive and I did not think that it would take this much time. There is also still manual work involved in handling the machines and finishing the books. I did not expect this, because I thought that nowadays everything would be done with machines. For example they still fold the protective jackets and put the products in boxes for the transportation to the client. I learned a lot about this process from the time I spend in the factory and from the DVD about the company I watched. I thought this was a really interesting process to learn and when I need to make a presentation about my internship company I would definitely use this to show it to my classmates or the public that is attending my presentation.

  • 18 Maart 2010 - 08:42

    C. Huisman:

    Beste Amy,

    Met plezier kijk ik regelmatig op jullie sites om te zien hoe jullie het hebben tijdens jullie internationale stage.
    Als ik de verslagen van nu vergelijk met die van vorig jaar dan valt mij op, dat ook jij veel uitgebreider en inhoudelijker schrijft over jouw leven binnen het bedrijf. Daarnaast geef naar mijn idee goed weer, welke verschillen jij ziet met name in sociaal-cultureel opzicht.
    Ik wens je nog een heel goede tijd, blijf je zeker via je site volgen en als de gelegenheid zich voordoet, laat ik nog een berichtje achter.
    Hartelijke groet!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

amy

Actief sinds 13 Jan. 2009
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 14526

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Januari 2010 - 09 April 2010

Last internship

30 Januari 2009 - 10 April 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: